2017 Workshop: Fire and conservation in Central Kalimantan

Workshop theme “Developing international collaborations to address fire and other conservation issues in Central Kalimantan, Indonesia”

18-19 October 2017. University of Exeter, Penryn Campus, Cornwall, UK

Borneo’s rich forests and wildlife face critical threats from fire and other human activities. With this in mind, the Borneo Nature Foundation and University of Exeter hosted an international workshop, involving over 30 scientists and Indonesian government representations, to discuss the challenges and opportunities relating to fire and other conservation issues in Central Kalimantan, Indonesia.

This workshop was a huge success, with many insightful presentations, stimulating discussions and potential collaborations developed. Immediate outputs from this workshop, including the Book of Abstracts and presentation files from many of the speakers are provided below, and a full description of the workshop’s events can be found on our News page

 

Book of Abstracts

 
 Available in English  Available in Bahasa Indonesia

 

Presentations

THE BURNING ISSUE: FIRE AND CONSERVATION IN CENTRAL KALIMANTAN

Dr Mark E. Harrison
Borneo Nature Foundation

E-mail: m.harrison@borneonature.org

BOLSTERING PEATLAND RESTORATION IN INDONESIA THROUGH 3RS APPROACH

Dr Alue Dohong
Peatland Restoration Agency, Republic of Indonesia

E-mail: alue.dohong@brg.go.id

THE TROPICAL PEATLAND FIRE DYNAMIC

Professor Susan Page
University of Leicester, Leicester, UK

E-mail: sep5@le.ac.uk

FLAMING PEAT: A PALAEOECOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVE ON BURNING IN TROPICAL PEATLANDS

Dr Lydia Cole
Rezatec and Oxford Longterm Ecology Laboratory, Oxford, UK

E-mail: lydcole@googlemail.com

CONSERVATION AND RESTORATION STARTEGIES FOR THE NATURAL LABORATORY
OF PEAT SWAMP FOREST, SABANGAU

Dr Ici Piter Kulu, MP
UPT. Laboratorium Lahan Gambut, CIMTROP, University of Palangka Raya, Indonesia

E-mail: ici_kulu17@yahoo.com

LESSONS FROM HABITAT PROTECTION AND RESTORATION IN THE SABANGAU
FOREST, CENTRAL KALIMANTAN

Bernat Ripoll Capilla
Borneo Nature Foundation

E-mail: b.ripoll@borneonature.org

PROTECTING PRIMATES: CONSERVATION RESEARCH IN BORNEO, 1996-2017

Simon Husson
Borneo Nature Foundation

E-mail: s.husson@borneonature.org

FISH IN A STRESSED WORLD: MECHANISMS OF RESPONSE TO ENVIRONMENTAL STRESSORS

Dr Eduarda Santos
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: E.Santos@exeter.ac.uk

TROPICAL FOREST DYNAMICS: DROUGHT, FIRE AND DEGRADATION

Dr Ted R. Feldpausch
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: t.r.feldpausch@exeter.ac.uk

PRODUCTIVITY AND SUSTAINABILITY OF UMP’S EDUCATION FOREST MANAGEMENT

Dr Siti Maimunah, S.Hut.,M.P.
University Muhammadiyah Palangkaraya (UMP), Indonesia

E-mail: sitimararil@gmail.com

CATS OF KALIMANTAN: CONSERVATION AND CONNECTIVITY

Dr Susan Cheyne
Borneo Nature Foundation

E-mail: s.cheyne@borneonature.org

DRONE TECHNOLOGY FOR ORANGUTAN CONSERVATION

Professor Serge Wich
Liverpool John Moores University, UK

E-mail: s.a.wich@ljmu.ac.uk

INTERDISCIPLINARITY, ECOSYSTEM SERVICES AND RESILIENCE:
EXPLORING PEATLAND FUTURES

Dr Caroline Upton
University of Leicester, UK

E-mail: cu5@leicester.ac.uk

AN INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDY OF THE PEATLAND FISH OF BORNEO:
ECOLOGY, VALUES, AND IMPLICATIONS FOR FUTURE CONSERVATION AND
LIVELIHOOD PROJECTS

Dr Sara A. Thornton
University of Leicester, UK

E-mail: s.thornton.p@gmail.com

LIVING WITH(OUT) FIRES: A CASE STUDY OF LIVELIHOOD STRATEGIES AND
ADAPTION AFTER LANDSCAPE BURNING IN 2015 IN THE COUNTRYSIDE OF
KALIMANTAN TENGAH, INDONESIA

Andrea Höing
University of Bonn, Germany

E-mail: ahoeing@uni-bonn.de

THE IMPACTS OF FOREST FIRES ON ORANGUTANS IN SABANGAU

Shari Mang
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: shari.l.mang@gmail.com

PLANT PHYSIOLOGY & VEGETATION MODELLING AND POSSIBLE APPLICATIONS FOR INDONESIA’S FORESTS

Dr Lina Mercado
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: L.Mercado@exeter.ac.uk

TROPICAL PEATLAND CARDON ACCUMULATION DURING THE LAST MILLENNIUM

Dr Angela Gallego-Sala
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: A.Gallego-Sala@exeter.ac.uk

UNDERSTANDING RESOURCE USE BEHAVIOUR

Dr Rachel Turner
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: r.turner@exeter.ac.uk

USING PLANT TRAITS TO UNDERSTAND TROPICAL FOREST FUNCTION & RESILIENCE

Dr Lucy Rowland
University of Exeter, UK

E-mail: L.Rowland@exeter.ac.uk

Share